I’m Jay Gatsby, Sucka’

I’m Jay Gatsby.

Or at least that’s what Corynne Hogan thinks. Corynne recently wrote an article about me in The Chronicle, William Mason High School’s student-run newspaper and free pizza coupon distribution service. It’s titled, “Hakes brings elegance to Regal Cinemas, hosting English premiere for The Great Gatsby.”

Elegance? Bless her.

In all seriousness, though, the article is very well-written and I only come off as partially mentally handicapped when quoted. It’s essentially about how I bought out a theater and invited a bunch of dweebs to watch Baz Luhrmann’s telling of The Great Gatsby. In the article, I eventually talk about the philosophy behind why I set up the party and why the book is so popular, but I wouldn’t take my word for it; the interview was on the spot and Corynne was eating cake right in front of me and I was hungry and nervous. But don’t tell her I said that.

Kidding. I had some semblance of an idea as to why the book is so popular, but what you really want to pay attention to is the interview with Lori Roth, my English teacher/guru. She actually has a degree on this stuff, so listen to her.

Roth also just gave me a card and a notebook for setting the whole thing up today. The notebook is splendid. I finally have a good place to write my erotic Power Rangers fanfiction It is a really great gift. And it has the cover of The Great Gatsby as the actual cover. Which pretty much makes my life (P.S. if you want a copy, go to www.outofprintclothing.com. They also sell tees, sweaters, and other things you should never let your hipster friends know about).

But I digress, this article is absolutely super. It’s very telling of the hysteria behind Subarashii no Gatsubi-chan and my last quote is pretty damn quotable, if I do say so myself. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I highly recommend it. The ending is positively rapturous. Seriously, I raptured so hard I needed a change of pants.

If you want to connect with/stalk Corynne, follow her on Twitter @mynameiscorynne

Leave a comment